Anarchist Republic
of Bzzz


Anarchist Republic Of Buzzz
« United Diktatürs of Europe»

La nouvelle expérience de Seb el Zin a tout pour nourrir les fantasmes des mélomanes avertis, ne serait-ce que par les noms invoqués: Arto Lindsay, Archie Shepp, Mike Ladd, Luc Ex, Juice Aleem, ErikM pour n’en citer que quelques uns… Ces noms ne sont qu’un prétexte pour servir une musique encore plus démente que leur premier opus (déjà avec Arto Lindsay, Mike Ladd et Seb el Zin, avec en plus la participation de Marc Ribot et Sensational).

Cette fois-ci, les guitares-barbelés du premier album, tissées par Arto Lindsay et Seb el Zin (qui joue aussi du ney sur cet album) sont appuyées par la basse viscérale de Luc Ex, et les rythmiques claquantes de 2 talentueux percussionnistes turcs. Sur ce brûlant canevas, des envolées lyriques de kanun et de violon, les diagonales saxophonistiques d’Archie Shepp et les matières organiques d’eRikm viennent en contrepoint de la mitraille vocale de Mike Ladd et Juice Aleem, plus rageurs que jamais.

En bon ministre de la propagande, Kiki Picasso signe la couverture et propulse inévitablement cet album au rang de disque culte, a l'instar du premier.

Anarchist Republic of Bzzz: New Albums OUT NOW Nov. 25, 2016

Nouvel album avec Archie Shepp,
Arto Lindsay, Seb el Zin, Luc Ex, Mike Ladd, Juice Aleem, eRikM...

Seb el Zin - General Administrator -  electric and acoustic guitars, ney, composition

Arto Lindsay - Minister of Defence - electric guitar

Mike Ladd - Minister of Truth - vocal freestyling

Juice Aleem - Minister of PLenty  - vocal freestyling

Luc Ex - Minister of Finances  - bass

Archie Shepp - Minister of Diagonals - Tenor and soprano saxophones

Rojda Senses - Minister of Love  - vocals

Timba Harris - Minister of Foreign affairs  - violin

Mehmet Boyaci - Minister of Justice - Kanun

eRikM - Minister of Fractals - turntables 

Murat Ertel - Minister of Micro-intervals

Onur Secki - Minister of Doum - Derbouka, Bass Derbouka, Zil, Bendir

Ismail Altunbas - Minister of Tek -Derbouka, Bass Derbouka, Zil, Bendir

Kiki Picasso - Minister of Propaganda - artwork

Seb el Zin’s latest experiment has everything the informed music-lover needs to fuel his fantasies, be it only mention of these hallowed names in the line-up: Arto Lindsay, Archie Shepp, Mike Ladd, Luc Ex, Juice Aleem and ErikM, to name but a few.

But these names merely represent the foundations for an even more demented music than that on A.R.of Bzzz’s first offering which, along with Lindsay and Ladd, featured Marc Ribot and Sensational.

This time the barbed-wire guitars of the last record, interwoven by Lindsay and el Zin (who on this album also plays the ney) are borne on the back of Luc Ex’s visceral bass and the thwacking rhythms of two talented Turkish percussionists. On this blazing canvas, the rhapsodic flights of the kanun and the violin, the saxophonic slashings of Mr Shepp and the abrasive minerality of eRikm all jar superbly with the machine-gun vocals of Ladd and Aleem, both more seething than ever.

The album’s cover, designed by Kiki Picasso, acting in his role as propaganda minister, puts the seal on what is — have no doubt about it — a cult classic, just like its illustrious predecessor.


Founded in early 2000s, Bzzz brings together ARTO LINDSAY, MIKE LADD, MARC RIBOT, SENSATIONAL and its leader SEB EL ZIN at the guitar and composition. Claiming the influence of the kabbalist Abdul Vector Von Hassid, this sonic nation distills on its first record a raging mix of sharp noisy post-no-wave guitars and urgent rap. Some electro colour also emanates from crazy architect Seb el Zin's mix.

« This piece of agressively bright red vinyl, masterminded by Seb el Zin, a.k.a singer of ethno-punk band ITHAK, is one of those records that feel like it already existed. The fusions of freestyle rap with mischievous, tricksy improvisations of post-No Wave skronk feel so natural that it’s hard to believe that this hasn’t been done before. Certainly Mike Ladd, the project’s most prominent vocalist here, has done some comparably noisy tracks in his time, but never with the grubby backstreet sense of rackety rythmic fun that Arto Lindsay’s, Seb el Zin’s and Marc Ribot’s guitars provide, and definitely never with a vocal foil as liquid in his delivery, as narcotically spontaneous, as convincingly hiphop as Sensational, who features on three tracks to Ladd’s five. The vocal styles are dramatically different – Ladd declamatory and hectoring, Sensational louche, loose and insinuating – but but both present nonsequiturs with huge authority. Like rap versions of Bill Burroughs, they endlessly spew what the Church of the SubGenius called « BullDada » about neural pathways and psy-ops, the Afghan war and Berber scholarship, while sounding the way you’d expect 21st century angry black beatnicks to sound. Tied together by Seb el Zin’s fine-grain production and edits, the record feels entirely consistent in its rambunctious fracturing. Its closest antecedent might be RammellZee’s and Bill Laswell’s 1988 track « The Lecture », but this is unmistakeably the present day rendered in tarnished science fiction form, and its explosions of instantaneous creation are very much of the now»

Joe Muggs, the Wire

Bzzz Records: Production Label
Atypeek Music: Digital Label / PR / Digitale distribution
La Baleine Distribution: Physical distribution

United Diktatürs of Europe


Anarchist Republic of Bzzz